1st Annual RFN “RPL First 11”

(Photo Courtesy of CSKA Official Instagram http://instagram.com/p/ZlMm44wxkg/ )

(Photo Courtesy of CSKA Official Instagram http://instagram.com/p/ZlMm44wxkg/ )

Our experts voted (with help from our twitter followers) for our Team of the Year.   We had no position requirements- experts could choose any formation they wanted.  All but one went with a 4-4-2, so that is what our team is.  CSKA Moscow, league Champions dominated our First 11. However the extent is incredibly- 7 out of the 11 are from the Champions, even though no voter chose over five CSKA representatives. This is perhaps a testament to CSKA’s balance

The back-line vote was by a landslide.  Things got more contested in Midfield, but there was a clear-cut leading four (as unbalanced as it may be.)   The controversy came at Forward where there was a three way tie between Musa, Hulk, and Wanderson.  We put it to our twitter followers to help us break the tie and Musa and Wanderson came out in front.

Surprisingly, however, no Zenit or Anzhi players made the first 11 despite the clubs finishing second and third. Perennial European contender Rubin Kazan only had one player even receive a vote. Krasnodar were surprise team to finish with two candidates. Aras Özbiliz the leading vote getter after a breakout year.

Please comment and let us know your first 11!   


RFN First 11

RFN First 11

GK: Igor Akinfeev (CSKA)
RB: Mário Fernandes (CSKA)
CB: Vasili Berezutski (CSKA)
CB: Sergei Ignashevich (CSKA)
LB: Dmitri Kombarov (Spartak)
MF: Aras Özbiliz (Kuban)
MF: Alan Dzagoev (CSKA)
MF: Pontus Wernbloom (CSKA)
MF: Joãozinho (Krasnodar)
FW: Ahmed Musa (CSKA)
FW: Wánderson (Krasnodar)

Honorable Mention:
GK: Mikhail Kerzhakov (Volga)
GK: Aleksandr Belenov (Kuban)
RB: Aleksandr Anyukov (Zenit)
CB: Ángel Dealbert (Kuban)
CB: Salvatore Bocchetti (Spartak)
LB: Cristian Ansaldi (Rubin)
MF: Rasmus Elm (CSKA)
MF: Roman Shirokov (Zenit)
MF: Charles Kaboré (Kuban)
AM: Aleksandr Kokorin (Dinamo)
FW: Hulk (Zenit)
FW: Yura Movsisyan (Spartak)
FW: Samuel Eto’o (Anzhi)


Andy – @AndyShenk
Connor – @Con_027
Manuel – @homosovieticus
Pavel – @russianpotter
John – @JohnSager

Author: John Sager


  1. ТРЕТЬЯК says:


    // что кстати здесь забыл Кержаков?

Leave a Reply